News Details

22 MaltaPost staff members recognised for their hard work during 2013

A total of 22 awards were presented to MaltaPost staff members recognising them for their continuous commitment in achieving the highest quality and best results during the last financial year which ended in September 2013.

The awards were handed to the winners during the Company's Annual Staff Meeting which welcomed all MaltaPost staff from the head office as well as the different delivery hubs and post offices. 11 individual awards were handed out whilst four group awards were given. The Employee of the year was given to Doreen Mizzi who works in the MaltaPost San Gwann Delivery Hub.

MaltaPost is also the holder of the EMS Cooperative Performance Award (Silver Level) for its performance in 2012. EMS is an international postal Express Mail Service for documents and merchandise, offered by postal operators of the Universal Postal Union.

During his address at the Annual Staff Meeting, MaltaPost's Chairman Joseph Said gave a review of the annual results for 2013 and referred to the diversification strategy of the Company's product and service portfolio as the most effective response to counter the impact of declining mail volumes in the traditional postal market.

The awards were presented by Mr Said together with MaltaPost's Chief Executive Officer Joseph Gafa' who congratulated the winners whilst thanking all the Company's staff for their hard work throughout 2013, which was another positive year for the Company in spite of the challenges that the postal sector continues to face. "I thank you all for your unwavering commitment in steering our Company forward and repeatedly rising to the challenge of an ever-evolving market place" Mr Gafa' said.

The awards presented were as follows:

Employee of the year award 2013 - Doreen Mizzi

Operational Awards

Best Employee - Central Mail Room - Lilian Ademovich

Smart Appearance - Central Mail Room - Jonathan Cutajar

Smart Appearance - Central Mail Room - Norbert Ciappara

Best Employee - Courier Section - Roderick Sammut

Smart Appearance Courier Section - Marisa Pizzuto

Best Employee - Delivery Section - Mark Montesin (San Gwann Delivery Hub)

Smart Appearance - Delivery Section - Jesmond Farrugia (San Gwann Delivery Hub)

Smart Appearance - Delivery Section - Karen Meilak (Zejtun Delivery Hub)

Smart Appearance - Delivery Section - Suzanne Vella (Xewkija Delivery Hub)

Runner-Up Best Postal Area Delivery Group - Qormi Delivery Hub

Best Postal Area Delivery Group - Xewkija Delivery Hub

Sales Awards

Best Employee Sales - Agatha Vella (Xaghra Post Office)

Smart Appearance Sales - Kenneth Zammit (Valletta Dar Annona Post Office)

Smart Appearance Sales - Elaine Demicoli

Runner-Up Best Post Office - Sliema Dingli Street (Louisa Camilleri)

Best Post Office - Valletta Old Bakery Street (Deborah Xuereb)

Administration Awards

Best Employee Administration - Yanika Micallef (Finance)

Smart Appearance Administration - Marisa Caruana (Human Resources)


Retiree - Anthony Falzon (San Gwann Delivery Hub)

Annual Best Suggestion - Sandro Gambin (Quality Assurance)

Best Brand Image for MaltaPost - Lorraine Pace (Qormi Delivery Hub)

Download Press Release in pdf