News Details

10th Anniversary - Accession to the European Union

On 30 April 2014, MaltaPost will issue a set of one stamp to commemorate the 10th Anniversary from Malta's accession to the European Union.

The stamp has a face value of €0.59 and depicts both the Maltese and European Union flags.



On 1 May 2004 Malta became a member of the European Union. Malta's quest to join the European Community started in 1967 when the Malta Government requested an Association Agreement with the European Economic Community (EEC). It continued in 1970 when Malta formally declared its intention to seek accession to the EEC and signed an Association Agreement. Malta was formally accepted as a candidate country to join the Union in 1999 and in April 2003 Malta signed the Accession Treaty in Athens. The European Union's principal activities are administered in Brussels. Malta has its own representatives within the European Parliament, Commission and Council.

The stamp has been designed by MaltaPost and will be issued in sheets of 10. Each stamp measures 44mm x 31mm with a perforation of 13.9 x 14.0 (comb.) bearing the Maltese Crosses watermark. Printex Ltd has printed the stamps in offset and the issue consists of 300,000 stamps.

The stamps will be available as from Wednesday 30 April 2014 from all Post Offices in Malta and Gozo, online at or by mail from the Philatelic Bureau, MaltaPost p.l.c. 305, Qormi Road, Marsa, MTP 1001; Telephone: 2596 1740, e-mail:

Download Press Release in pdf